In the tradition of past workshops, the organizers of IHW 2017 are pleased to offer registration awards to help offset costs for graduate students and trainees to attend the workshop in Ghent. Awardees were selected on the scientific merit of their abstract, while gender, ethnicity, and diversity were also considered. The organizers received over a hundred applications and are pleased to announce the following awardees:


First Name



Last Name








Hannover Medical School

Thamir Alandijany United Kingdom MRC-University of Glasgow, Centre for Virus Research (CVR)
Roberto Alfonso United States NIAID (National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases), NIH
Lbachir BenMohamed United States University of California Irvine
Richard Berry Australia Monash Biomedicine Discovery Institute
Camille Cohen France University Claude Bernard Lyon 1
Vanessa Collin Canada CHU de Quebec research center-Université Laval
Elena Maria Cornejo Castro United States Frederick National Laboratory for Cancer Research
Lindsey Costantini United States University of North Carolina
Juliana Cudini United Kingdom University College London
Katinka Döhner Germany Hannover Medical School
Elizabeth Elder United Kingdom University of Cambridge
Osefame Ewaleifoh United States Northwestern Univeristy
Susanne Fink Germany DKFZ
Michael Grange United Kingdom University of Oxford
Gloria Griffante Italy University of Turin
Anna Grosskopf Germany German Primate Center
Ting-Hin Ho Canada University of Toronto; the University of Hong Kong
Michael Hulse United States Temple University
Robert Jansens Belgium Ghent University
Gang Li United States Harvard Medical School
Renato Lopes Previdelli Germany Freie Universität Berlin
Richard Manivanh United States Dartmouth College
Yuhei Maruzuru Japan University of Tokyo
Takeharu Minamitani Japan National Institutes of Biomedical Innovation, Health, and Nutrition
Christopher Nguyen United States LSU Health Sciences Center - Shreveport
Katie Nightingale United Kingdom University of Cambridge
Eleonore Ostermann Germany Heinrich Pette Institute
Swapneel Patel United States Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
Ulfert Rand Germany Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research
Nina Reuter Germany Institute of Clinical and Molecular Virology, University Hospital Erlangen
Sebastian Rönfeldt Germany Friedrich-Loeffler Institut
Tiffany Russell United Kingdom University of Surrey
Eiki Sekine United Kingdom Imperial College London
Miri Shnayder Israel Wiezmann Institute of Science
Corinne Smith United States Thomas Jefferson University
Su Hui Catherine Teo United Kingdom Imperial College London
Cristina Tommasi United Kingdom UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health
Ferdy Van Diemen Netherlands University Medical Center Utrecht
Paola Vaz Australia University of Melbourne
Heather Vincent United States University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill