July 21-25, 2018

Abstract Book Attendee Roster Certificate of Attendance



Soren Gantt
University of British Columbia
Felicia Goodrum
University of Arizona
Greg Smith
Northwestern University




IHW 2018 Co-chairs

Soren Gantt
University of British Columbia, Canada
Felicia Goodrum
University of Arizona, USA
Greg Smith
Northwestern University, USA

IHW 2018 PROGRAM advisory committee

Jim Alwine, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Blossom Damania, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Lynn Enquist, Princeton University, USA
Lee Fortunato, University of Idaho, USA
Adam Geballe, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA
Britt Glaunsinger, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Katya Heldwein, Tufts University School of Medicine, USA
Micah Luftig, Duke University School of Medicine, USA
Klaus Osterreider, Freie University Berlin, Germany
Sandy Weller, University of Connecticut Health, USA

IHW 2018 international review COMMITTEE

Bruce Banfield, Queen's University, Canada
Chris Benedict, La Jolla Institute, USA
Jens Bosse, Heinrich Pette Institute, Germany
Judith Breuer, University College London, UK
Ethel Cesarman, Weil Cornell Medical College, USA
Anna Cliffe, University of Virginia, USA
Sarah Connolly, DePaul University, USA
Jill Dembowski, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, USA
Carol Duffy, University of Alabama, USA
Pinghui Feng, University of Southern California, USA
Marta Gaglia, Tufts University, USA
Eva Gottwein, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, USA
Anne Halenius, University Medical Center, University of Freiburg, Germany
Julia Hilliard, Georgia State University, USA
Amy Hudson, Medical College of Wisconsin, USA
Jeremy Kamil, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Shreveport, USA
John Karijolich, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, USA
Paul Kinchington, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Oren Kobiler, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Timothy Kowalik, University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA
Laurie Krug, Stony Brook University, USA
Robert Jan Lebbink, University Medical Center Utrecht, The Netherlands
Roger Lippé, University of Montreal, Canada
Nathaniel Moorman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Mandy Muller, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA
Maria Nagel, University of Colorado, USA
Donna Neumann, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center New Orleans, USA
Anthony Nicola, Washington State University, USA
Christine O'Connor, Cleveland Clinic, USA
Sallie Permar, Duke University, USA
Tiffany Reese, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA
Rolf Renne, University of Florida, USA
Mark Schleiss, University of Minnesota, USA
Kathy Shair, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Jennifer Slyker, University of Washington, USA
Jim Smiley, University of Alberta, Canada
Beate Sodeik, Hannover Medical School, Germany
Daniel Streblow, Oregon Health and Science University, USA
Moriah Szpara, Pennsylvania State University, USA
Vera Tarakanova, Medical College of Wisconsin, USA
Matthew Taylor, Montana State University, USA
Scott Terhune, Medical College of Wisconsin, USA
Mirko Trilling, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Derek Walsh, Northwestern University, USA
Angus Wilson, New York University School of Medicine, USA
Ting-Ting Wu, University of California Los Angeles, USA






Preliminary agenda; subject to change




registration awards


merit-based awards

Merit-based awards will be available to post-doctorates, graduate students, and trainees with highly-scored abstracts. The award will consist of complimentary registration to attend the Workshop. If you would like to apply for a merit-based award, you must register for IHW 2018, submit an abstract, and answer the award questions on the abstract submission form. 

The link to the abstract submission site and merit-based award application will be included in your registration confirmation email. Merit-based award applicants will be notified of their decision with their abstract disposition notice on Friday, 18 May 2018. If you are selected as an award recipient, your registration fee will be refunded to the credit card used during the online registration process. Awards are non-transferrable.



The deadline to submit a need-based award application was Friday, 02 March 2018. Award notifications were emailed on Thursday, 08 March 2018.

Need-based funds will also be available to post-doctorates, graduate students, trainees and unfunded faculty to attend IHW 2018. These awards are intended for those who could not otherwise attend the Workshop due to personal or organizational financial restrictions and therefore cannot commit to registration without obtaining financial support in advance. 

The award will consist of complimentary registration and 6 nights accommodations. 

Need-Based Award Policies and Procedures:
  • You do not have to be registered for IHW 2018 to apply for a need-based award.
  • Students and post-docs from labs funded by NIH R01 or equivalent awards may not be eligible for need-based funding.
  • The award will consist of complimentary registration to attend the Workshop and 6 nights complimentary accommodations. Awards are non-transferrable.
  • Awardees are financially responsible for all travel costs associated with attending the Workshop.
  • You will need to write a short statement on why you are applying for a need-based award.
  • You will need to provide a preliminary abstract (maximum of 150 words).
  • A letter of recommendation from your Supervisor or PI is encouraged, but not required.
  • You cannot save and return to this application. The application must be completed and submitted in its entirety.
  • The deadline to submit the need-based award application was Friday, 02 March 2018.
  • If you receive a need-based award, you must submit an abstract before the abstract submission deadline of Tuesday, 03 April 2018. If you do not register or do not submit an abstract by Tuesday, 03 April 2018, the award will be rescinded.


For questions regarding awards, please email IHW@ConferenceSolutionsInc.com or call 503.244.4294 ext. 1002.

2018 Sponsors

IHW 2018 Sponsors

The Organizing Committee would like to thank the following sponsors for their generous financial support, without which, the workshop would not be possible.







Additional Support


LOCAL support







To contact the IHW Workshop Planner with general inquiries, please email us at IHW@ConferenceSolutionsInc.com or call 503.244.4294 extension 1002.
For registration questions, please email Register@ConferenceSolutionsInc.com or call 503.244.4294 extension 1006.

The IHW 2018 Conference mailing address is:

IHW 2018
c/o Conference Solutions
1033 SE Main Street, Suite 4
Portland, Oregon 97214